The historic Bothy, situated between the 9th green and the 10th tee was built in 1877, along with the Icehouse, for the purpose of catching and storing salmon.
These fine old buildings sit on 0.52 acres of land purchased for the Nairn Golf Club from Cawdor Estates on the 1st. December 1987 and are very much a feature of our course.
Originally there were 8 bothies and fishing stations between Whiteness Head (McDermott’s Point) and Shallow Head. Shallow Head is about 1 mile from the mouth of the River Findhorn. Every bothy was different, Delnies being described as ‘a very good bothy’ ( this does not however mean good comfy beds etc but apparently refers to the amount of fish caught). At Delnies they would catch up to 5000 salmon in a good season. The ice came from either Aberdeen or Buckie and was delivered to the bothies, and the salmon collected.
Both buildings have recently had a facelift and the Bothy has been converted into a halfway house where golfers can purchase snacks and refreshments while taking a well earned breather at the turn and enjoying the stunning scenery.